CRSA Kicks Off June at Home of Heroes

CRSA Kicks Off June at Home of Heroes

Press Release by: Marty Czekala - June 5, 2024 - Photo By: Dylan Terry

The A-Verdi Storage Containers CRSA Sprints powered by SuperGen Products kick off the month of June at Utica-Rome Speedway Friday as part of the I-90 Pit Stop Challenge.

It is the 20th time the Vernon racetrack has hosted "The Future Stars of Sprint Cars." Last year, Utica-Rome was scheduled to host two events, but the June event was washed out due to weather. Utica-Rome gets three dates this year, including the penultimate race on Short Track SuperNationals weekend.

Last year, Jordan Hutton won the lone race July 14 over Billy VanInwegen and Cory Sparks.

Here’s a look at the top stories entering the weekend.

Tune In: Action can be seen live on FloRacing, with Chris Moore filling in for Marty Czekala on the call. Expand your race night experience at the track or online through the MyRacePass app or at for $5.99 a month, featuring live timing, entry list, fantasy and results.

Last Week: A return to the Afton Fairgrounds Speedway Friday for CRSA to continue the Joe's Garage Southern Tier Series. With nine to go, Kyle Pierce took advantage of Jeff Trombley’s blown motor to take the lead and not back for his first win of the season, the fifth of his career.

This was a race where the one that got away came back to him. Last time at Afton, Pierce was leading when he ran out of fuel in the final laps to give up the win to Dalton Herrick.

"Anytime we can win, or even in the top 10, that's a great day for us,” said Pierce post-race. “To finally get a win is a great way to start the summer months.”

Mike Kiser finished second, while Dalton Herrick was third.

We know Drama: In the last three weeks of action, chaos has unfolded amongst the leaders in the second half the race. At Land of Legends, Matt Rotz had to hold off a hard-charging Bobby Parrow in the final laps for his first career sprint car win. Back at Weedsport, Bobby Parrow broke a rear end to give Jordan Hutton the win. Now, Friday at Afton, it was Trombley’s engine giving away to give Kyle Pierce his first win.

Trombley’s Time to Shine?: Jeff Trombley may be fifth in points entering the weekend at Utica-Rome, but he has shown that he has performed like a car capable of the podium.

To start the season at Thunder Mountain, Trombley ran second before his car caught a yuke tire, damaging the left front and ending his night. At Land of Legends and Weedsport, the No. 3a finished the race in fourth and second, respectively. Of course, the motor went south last week on his ride finishing in 19th.

But if there’s a place he could win at, it’s Utica-Rome. The four-time champion is tied with Danny Varin in track wins with two apiece. He also recorded his first and last wins in 2017 and 2022. With 13 wins, a victory would tie him on the all-time win list alongside Varin, Scott Goodrich and Josh Pieniazek.

By the Numbers: At Utica, the average car count since 2015 is over 22 cars. 47 different drivers have finished in the top five. Utica has also been known for its parity of winners, with 17 other drivers taking a checkered flag. Jeff Trombley and Jeff VanSteenburg each lead the way in top fives with six. Mike Kiser has a win and four top fives at “The Home of Heroes.” Previous winner Jordan Hutton has a pair of top fives.

From the Frontman: "What a successful month of May to get the season started as we move to June at one of Brett Deyo’s tracks! While we’re still working on rescheduling Fonda, Utica-Rome is a great facility with great racing and great food. Definitely worth coming out to the Mohawk Valley this weekend.” ~ Mike Emhof

Up Next: CRSA's first trip outside New York happens next Friday at Penn Can Speedway in Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, for round three of the Joe's Garage Southern Tier Series. Can’t make it? Catch the action live on Dirt Track Digest TV.


  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 624 pts
  2. 22 Tomy Moreau -16
  3. 9K Kyle Pierce -25
  4. 29 Dalton Herrick -26
  5. 3A Jeff Trombley -31
  6. 21B Blake Warner -40
  7. 28 Ron Greek -40
  8. 410 Jerry Sehn Jr. -58
  9. J27 John Cunningham -85
  10. 99 Adam Depuy -139

I-90 Pit Stop Challenge Standings

  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 172 pts
  2. 3A Jeff Trombley -5
  3. 33 Scott Landers -6
  4. 8 Dillon Paddock -9
  5. 4S Johnny Smith -13
  6. 53 Shawn Donath -13
  7. 21Z Zach Sobotka -18
  8. 99 Adam Depuy -20
  9. 29 Dalton Herrick -20
  10. 56V Bally VanInwegen -21

Previous Winners @ Utica-Rome

  1. Danny Varin (2) 2011, 2012
  2. Jeff Trombley (2) 2017, 2022
  3. Steve Lapine (1) 2006
  4. Matt Demitraszek (1) 2007
  5. Dylan Swiernik (1) 2008
  6. Jeremy Quick (1) 2009
  7. Mason Olmstead (1) 2009
  8. Jamie Christian (1) 2010
  9. Matt Tanner (1) 2010
  10. Josh Pieniazek (1) 2011
  11. Chad Miller (1) 2015
  12. Eddie Strada (1) 2015
  13. Mike Kiser (1) 2016
  14. Alysha Bay (1) 2021
  15. Kyle Pierce (1) 2021
  16. Darryl Ruggles (1) 2022
  17. Jordan Hutton (1) 2023

Feature Winners

  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 2
  2. 77 Matt Rotz 1
  3. 9K Kyle Pierce 1

Feature Polesitters

  1. D9 Dustin Sehn 1
  2. 48A Alysha Bay 1
  3. 33 Scott Landers 1
  4. 28 Ron Greek 1

Heat Winners

  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 2
  2. 3A Jeff Trombley 2
  3. 22 Tomy Moreau 2
  4. 56 Billy VanInwegen Jr. 1
  5. 88c Chad Miller 1
  6. 23 John Smith 1
  7. 25G Tyler Graves 1
  8. 18c Dan Craun 1
  9. 22 Tomy Moreau 1
  10. 80 Bobby Parrow 1
  11. 33 Scott Landers 1
  12. 99 Adam Depuy 1
  13. 18 Timmy Lotz 1

Top 5s

  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 2
  2. 3A Jeff Trombley 2
  3. 9K Kyle Pierce 2
  4. 29 Dalton Herrick 2
  5. 56V Billy VanInwegen 2
  6. 22 Tomy Moreau 1
  7. 410 Jerry Sehn Jr. 1
  8. 8 Dillon Paddock 1
  9. 33 Scott Landers 1
  10. 80 Bobby Parrow 1
  11. 4s Johnny Smith 1
  12. 48a Alysha Bay 1
  13. 77 Matt Rotz 1
  14. 99 Mike Kiser 1
  15. 12 Tyler Chartrand 1

Top 5 Hard Chargers By +/-

  1. 56V Billy VanInwegen +28
  2. 410 Jerry Sehn Jr. +27
  3. 21Z Zach Sobotka +24
  4. 9K Kyle Pierce +19
  5. 8 Dillon Paddock +14

Fastest Lap

  1. 56V Billy VanInwegen 1 (15.085s @ Thunder Mountain)
  2. 77 Matt Rotz 1 (16.838s @ Land of Legends)
  3. 121 Steve Glover 1 (15.569s @ Weedsport)
  4. 3A Jeff Trombley 1 (14.153s @ Afton)

Lap Leaders

  1. 66 Jordan Hutton 30
  2. 77 Matt Rotz 20
  3. 80 Bobby Parrow 9
  4. 28 Ron Greek 9
  5. 9k Kyle Pierce 9
  6. 3a Jeff Trombley 7
  7. 56V Billy VanInwegen 5
  8. 121 Steve Glover 5
  9. 4s Johnny Smith 1

The A-Verdi Storage Containers CRSA Sprints are powered by Super Gen Products. Associate sponsors for 2024 include Pit Stop Convenience Stores, DisBatch Brewing Company, Dandy, Joe's Garage, Westward Painting Company, the Maguire Family of Dealerships, Powdertech Powdercoating, PJC Sprayfoam, Profab Enterprises, Magsarus Ignitions, Hoosier Racing Tire, Insinger Performance with their Stinger Race Fuel, My Race Pass and is owned and operated by Mike Emhof Motorsports.

For more information on the series, results and points, please visit our website,

Please like and follow the CRSA Sprints on Facebook and X @CRSASprints.

SuperGen Products
Midstate Basement Authorities
A-Verdi Storage Containers
PJC Sprayfoam
Mike Emhof Motorsports
Maguire Family of Dealerships
ProFab Enterpries
Magsarus Ignitions
Eagle Enterprises
PowderTech Powdercoating
Pit Stop Convenience Stores
Insinger Performance
Stinger Race Fuel
Bicknell Racing Products
DisBatch Brewing Company
Hoosier Racing Tires
Forgot Password?